Emery Awards 2016 at Hetrick-Martin Institute

Recently, December 7th, 2016, Bullies Keep Out attended the 30th Annual Hetrick-Martin Institute Emery Awards at Cipriani Wall Street. The theme of this year’s event was Help us Imagine a better future for LGBTQ youth and the LGBTQ community. The awards celebrate the power of imagine and its leaders. Bob Harper, fitness expert and Host of The Biggest Loser, hosted the amazing event. The HMI Emery Awards honored Hollywood legend George Takei, Rob Smith, and Facebook. The night also consisted of a musical tribute to HMI by the world-renowned Andy Bell, touching speeches and video tributes.

The Emery Awards recognizes individuals and organizations who not only demonstrate incredible leadership in the LGBTQ community, but put forth tireless effort to address the most crucial issues facing HMI youth, one of which is the prevention of HIV/AIDS, housing, and homelessness support, education, and health and wellness.

Towards the end of the night the hilarious and talented of Lydia Fennet, SVP and International Director of Strategic Partnerships, Christie’s hosted the auction. Not only did she have the entire audience laughing, but she managed to raise thousands of dollars for HMI through her eagerness to support the cause, her finesse, and her charm.

Once the night ended, HMI held and after-party that was filled with dancing, laughing, joy, making new friends, and celebrating a wonderful and eventful night. All in all, the evening was a massive success in helping the LGBTQ community. You can check out Hetrick-Martin Institute here: Donate

You can also follow them on Twitter: @HetrickMartin and Facebook

Other notable attendees included:

Thomas Krever – CEO, HMI

Darra Gordon – COO, HMI

Melissa Mark-Viverito – Politician, Speaker of the NYC Council

Chris Mozier – Trans-athlete

Shakina Nayfack – Trans-actress, Difficult People

Alfredo Paredes – EVP and CCO, Ralph Lauren

Robert Verdi- Fashionista

Sandra Lee – Television Chef and Author

Billy Bean – Former MLB Player

Edie Windsor

Cast of Orange is The New Black: Barbara Rosenblat, Annie Golden, Tamara Torres, Lori Tan Chinn, Cathy Curtin, and Abigail Savage

Miss Jay

Chris Salgardo – President, Kiehl’s USA

Tamron Hall – Host of MSNBC Live with Tamron Hall

Crystal Chappel

Elliott Silors

Kyle Farmery

Carlos Menchaca

David Lawenda – Head of US Global Marketing Solutions at Facebook

Please check the Emery Awards red carpet and celebration of the evening below:

%d bloggers like this: